top of page

Biblical Outline: Zechariah

Peace & Blessings Beloved,

TGBTG for allowing us to see another day. I pray all is well with you and yours, and that your week has been fruitful & blessed thus far.

In this Series, we are going to further our in-depth study of each book of the Holy Bible, breaking each book into the major themes and topics contained therein. Today we'll outline the thirty-eighth book of the Bible, Zechariah.


Part I (chapters 1-8)

  • Introduction (1:1-6)

    • The Date and the Author's Name (1:1)

    • A Call to Repentance (1:2-6)

  • A Series of Eight Visions in One Night (1:7;6:8)

    • The Horseman among the Myrtle Trees (1:7-17)

    • The Four Horns and the Four Craftsmen (1:18-21)

    • A Man with a Measuring Line (chapter 2)

    • Clean Garments for the High Priest (chapter 3)

    • The Gold Lampstand and the Two Olive Trees (chapter 4)

    • The Flying Scroll (5:1-4)

    • The Woman in a Basket (5:5-11)

    • The Four Chariots (6:1-8)

  • The Symbolic Crowning of Joshua the High Priest (6:9-15)

  • The Problem of Fasting and the Promise of the Future (chs. 7-8)

    • The Question by the Delegation from Bethel (7:1-3)

    • The Rebuke by the Lord (7:4-7)

    • The Command to Repent (7:8-14)

    • The Restoration of Israel to God's Favor (8:1-17)

    • Kingdom Joy and Jewish Favor (8:18-23) Part II (chapters 9-14)

  • Two Prophetic Oracles: The Great Messianic Future and the Full Realization of God's Kingdom (chapters 9-14)

    • The First Oracle: The Coming and Rejection of the Messiah (chapters 9-11)

      1. The coming of the Messianic King (chapters 9-10)

        1. The destruction of surrounding nations but the preservation of Zion (9:1-8)

        2. The coming of Zion's King (9:9-10)

        3. The deliverance and blessing of Zion's people (9:11;10:1)

        4. The leaders warned and the people encouraged (10:2-4)

        5. Israel's victory and restoration (10:5-12)

      2. The rejection of the Messianic Shepherd-King (chapter 11)

        1. The prologue (11:1-3)

        2. The rejection of the Good Shepherd (11:4-14)

        3. The rise and fall of the worthless shepherd (11:15-17)

    • The Second Oracle: The Coming and Reception of the Messiah (chapters 12-14)

      1. The deliverance and conversion of Israel (chapters 12-13)

        1. The siege of Jerusalem (12:1-3)

        2. The divine deliverance (12:4-9)

        3. Israel completely delivered from sin (12:10;13:9)

      2. The Messiah's coming and his kingdom (chapter 14)

        1. The siege of Jerusalem (14:1-2)

        2. The Messiah's return and its effects (14:3-8)

        3. The establishment of the Messianic kingdom (14:9-11)

        4. The punishment of Israel's enemies (14:12-15)

        5. The universal worship of the holy King (14:16-21)

May we establish, nurture, and grow a sincere love for the word of God, and study it lovingly & faithfully.

I pray you receive this with the love intended, and apply it to wisdom.

May the joy of the Lord continue to be your strength.

Love you much.

Stay Safe, Stay Healthy, Stay Blessed!

-Humble Servant

P.S- If you have not given your life to Jesus Christ, I implore you to take the time to do so right now. Use John 3:16 & Romans 10:9-10 as a foundation for making your confession of faith. And use Ephesians 2:1-10 to provide proper context for your salvation

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page